*
Though the is no certified together a gluten-free product, no one of that ingredients contains gluten. So we can safely assume the Velveeta is gluten-free and can be consumed by gluten-free and celiac consumers.

You are watching: Is there gluten in velveeta cheese

According come FDA standards, technically, Velveeta is not cheese.The gluten-free and also celiac community recognizes Velveeta as a gluten-free product.Since Kraft foodstuffs does no label Velveeta together being certified gluten-free, we have the right to assume that cross-contamination might occur.Is Velveeta gluten free? I store hearing that inquiry ever due to the fact that I began my journey v gluten complimentary living. Because that the many part, people don’t really recognize what Velveeta is actually, is it actual cheese? Is that not? We have all the answers below.

An iconic American brand whose background spreads end a century, Velveeta will tantalize your taste sprout no matter exactly how you eat it: melted into a dip, baked, or spurted ~ above a salad.

However, a inquiry still remains: is Velveeta gluten free? despite it is not certified as a gluten-free product, no one of that ingredients consists of gluten.

So we deserve to safely assume that Velveeta is gluten-free and also can be consumed by gluten-free and celiac consumers.

Is Velveeta Gluten complimentary – What is Velveeta

Velveeta is produced by Kraft foods. Image via Wikipedia

Manufactured by Kraft Foods, Velveeta is a processed cheese product with a velvety, smooth consistency as soon as melted. 

Invented earlier in 1918 through the Monroe Cheese Company, the brand was offered to Kraft foodstuffs in 1927. 

Though initially sold as “Pasteurized procedure Cheese Spread” and marketed together a ‘healthy product’ that appreciated the stamp of approval the the American medical Association, Velveeta included whey and real cheese.

However, ago in 2002, FDA compelled Kraft foodstuffs to brand Velveeta as “Pasteurized prepared Cheese Product”. 

Currently, Velveeta contains mainly milk protein concentrate and also whey protein concentrate, combined with milk, fat and various preservatives. According to FDA standards, technically, Velveeta is no cheese.

Related Read: Is love husband gluten free? Popular uses

Popular recipes for Velveeta include macaroni and cheese, queso dip, or grilled cheese sandwiches. Velveeta is also accessible in Mexican, spicy Cheddar, Jalapeño, or 2% Milk varieties.


Ingredients the Velveeta

According come Kraft Foods, Velveeta’s ingredients are:

 • Milk

• Milk protein concentrate

• Whey & whey protein concentrate

• Water

• Milkfat

• 2% or less salt

• sodium phosphate

•Lactic acid & sorbic acid

• salt alginate & sodium citrate 

• Enzymes

• Cheese culture

• Apocarotenal

• Annatto

Things to look out for

Kraft foods boasts a strict and also trusted policy to overtly disclose any allergens on your products’ nutrition labels.

In the situation of Velveeta, none of its detailed ingredients includes gluten. What’s more, the gluten-free and also celiac ar recognizes Velveeta together a gluten-free product.

See more: What Is The Greatest Common Factor Of 28 And 48 ? Greatest Common Factor Of 28 And 48 Gcf(28,48)

However, because Kraft foods does no label Velveeta together being certified gluten-free, we have the right to assume that cross-contamination may occur.

To sum up…

An American food-processing symbol, Velveeta is acknowledged as a gluten-free cheese product. Obtainable in assorted flavours and also combinations, Velveeta looks like it’s right here to say for 100 years more!